You are here: Home / ISMC Conference 2021

ISMC Conference 2021

3rd ISMC Conference - Advances in Modeling Soil Systems

The 3rd ISMC Conference - Advances in Modeling Soil Systems on May 18-22, 2021 is hosted as virtual event.



Mark your Calendar:

Opening of the conference 18th May 2021 - 1pm UTC

Local Times:

18th May 2021 9pm CST Beijing
18th May 2021 3pm CEST Vienna, Austria
18th May 2021 9am EDT New York
18th May 2021 6am CEST San Francisco


Registration Deadline: 10th May 2021


The conference programme: addresses recent research in the soil-vegetation-atmosphere continuum centered around soils over all spatial scales, time scales, and elements - from processes to prediction.


  • Rien van Genuchten Award
  • ISMC Early Career Award
  • ISMC Publication Award
  • Early Career ISMC Presentation Award


Oral talks

  • All speakers are allowed to pre-record their talk given it is made available easily and timely.
  • The convener team convenes the session via zoom webinar together with one facilitator to allow for smooth scientific and technical conduct.
  • Both, oral and poster presenters are asked to be present during the poster session and upload one poster to the poster session.


Interactive poster session

  • The poster session takes place directly after the oral presentations. Participants change from Zoom Webinar to (works on Chrome, Firefox and Microsoft Edge; it does not work on Safari),
  • Presenters are asked to upload one poster file for virtual display as high resolution PNG to a directory specified and communicated before 10th May.
  • Upload must be done by 17th May 24h CEST by the presenter. The PNG will be further deployed by the facilitator in the virtual poster gallery.
  • All poster sessions will take place in the format with video chat and free virtual roaming by all participants.


Conference registration and abstract processing charges cover the following expenses:
-    Webinar software
-    Poster and interactive software
-    Conference, abstract, programme and invoice management
-    Technical assistance


Special Issue in Big Earth Data is planned.Details can be found here.



  • Abstracts submission (on-going): 50 EUR
  • Early bird registration (deadline 15th April): 25 EUR
  • Late bird registration (deadline 3rd May): 50 EUR


Organizing Committee:

Ana Maria Tarquis (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid)
Anne Verhoef (The University of Reading)
Bhavna Arora (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
Dani Or (ETH Zurich)
Gautam Sagar (Sandia National Laboratory)
Harry Vereecken (Forschungszentrum Julich GmbH)
Jan Vanderborght (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH)
Jiri Simunek (University of California Riverside)
Katherine Todd-Brown (University of Florida)
Martine J van der Ploeg (Wageningen University)
Michael Young (University of Texas at Austin)
Morteza Sadeghi (University of Minnesota)
Roland Baatz (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH)
Scott L Painter (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Teamrat A Ghezzehei (University of California Merced)
Tiejun Wang (Tianjin University)
Umakant Mishra (Sandia National Laboratory)
Ute Wollschlaeger (Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ)
Xi Chen (Tianjin University)
Yijian Zeng (University of Twente)
Yonggen Zhang (Tianjin University)


Session Conveners and the ISMC Executive Board form the Scientific Programme Committee.



This is Pacific Theme